Weddings in Vermont offer up more than just a chance to tie the knot in a beautiful and memorable locale. The state offers a smorgasbord of activities that the bride and groom, their wedding parties and other guests can enjoy, both before and after the ceremony.

Whether you’re looking to sip libations at one of Vermont’s many breweries or distilleries, tour the trees and mountain tops on a zipline, hit the links or take a spin, you can find it all in the Green Mountain State. Here’s an easy one-page list to get you started.

Beer

• The Alchemist, Stowe, alchemistbeer.com

• 14th Star, St. Albans, 14thstarbrewing.com

• Lawson’s Finest Liquids, Waitsfield, lawsonsfinest.com

• Brewster River Pub & Brewery, Jeffersonville, brewsterriverpubnbrewery.com

• Rock Art Brewery, Morrisville, rockartbrewery.com

• Hill Farmstead Brewery, Greensboro Bend, hillfarmstead.com

• Idletyme Brewing Company, Stowe, idletymebrewing.com

• von Trapp Brewery and Bierhall, Stowe, vontrappbrewing.com

• Fiddlehead Brewing Co., Shelburne, fiddleheadbrewing.com

• Killington Beer Co., Killington, killingtonbeercompany.com

• Magic Hat Brewing Co., South Burlington, magichat.net

• Zero Gravity Craft Brewing, Burlington, zerogravitybeer.com

Distilleries

• Green Mountain Distillers, Morrisville, greendistillers.com

• Smugglers’ North Distillery, Jeffersonville, smugglersnotchdistillery.com

• Caledonia Spirits, Montpelier, caledoniaspirits.com

• Wild Hart Distillery, Shelburne, wildhartdistillery.com

• Appalachian Gap Distillery, Middlebury, appalachiangap.com

• Mad River Distillers, Waitsfield, madriverdistillers.com

• Vermont Distillers, Brattleboro, vermontdistillers.com

Sky tours

• Stowe Gondola and Stowe ZipTour and Treetop Adventures, stowe.com

• Jay Peak Tram, Jay, jaypeakresort.com

• Arbortrek Adventures, Smugglers’ Notch Resort, arbortrek.com

• Killington Adventure Center, killington.com

Rec/bike paths

• Stowe Bike Path, 5.3-mile paved path with mountain, river views

• Lamoille Valley Rail Trail, 17-miles of mostly flat terrain in Lamoille County, lvrt.org

• Missisquoi Valley Rail Trail, recreational trail through Franklin County, mvrailtrail.com

• Burlington Greenway, 8-mile paved path along Lake Champlain, enjoyburlington.com

Escape rooms

• Enigma Vermont Escape Room, Stowe, enigmavt.com

• Escape Room 60, Williston, escaperoom60.com

• Esc4pe, Burlington, esc4pe.com

• Stratton Escape Room, Winhall, strattonescaperoom.com

Golf

• Stowe Country Club, stowevtgolf.com

• Country Club of Vermont, Waterbury Center, countryclubvt.com

• Basin Harbor Club, Vergennes, basinharbor.com

• Green Mountain National Golf Course, Killington, gmngc.com

• Jay Peak Resort Golf Course, Jay, jaypeakresort.com

• Vermont National Country Club, South Burlington, vermontnational.com

• Dorset Field Club, Dorset, dorsetfieldclub.com

• Kwiniaska Golf Club, Shelburne, kwiniaska.com

• Manchester Country Club, mccvt.com

• Sugarbush Golf Club, Warren, sugarbush.com

Outdoor activities

Northern Vermont is home to a plethora of state parks, lakes and reservoirs to boat and swim, mountains to hike and beauty spots to visit. For a rundown of some of those options, visit the Vermont State Parks website (vtstateparks.com) and the Green Mountain Club website (greenmountainclub.org).

Staff picks

Things to do that don’t quite fit our other categories.

• Cajun’s Snack Bar, a taste of real Vermont, funky old-fashioned fried food joint, seasonal, Lowell, cajunssnackbar.com

• Pump House Indoor Waterpark, state-of-the-art water park at Jay Peak Resort, jaypeakresort.com

• Church Street Marketplace/Burlington Waterfront, Lake Champlain, shopping, dining, music, outdoor activities

• Trapp Family Lodge, Stowe, all things von Trapp, “The Sound of Music,” stunning scenery, trappfamily.com

• Charlotte to Westport, beautiful harbor towns with a boat ride thrown in, ferries.com

• Craftsbury Common, explore beautiful green, nearby Caspian Lake, and the Northeast Kingdom countryside

• Scenic Route 100, follow the spine of the Greens from Stowe to Killington

Reliable news and information is vitally important. Local advertising has been affected by the COVID-19 crisis but the Vermont Community Newspaper Group remains committed to its responsibility to serve its communities. Your communities. With some assistance from loyal readers, community organizations, foundations and other funders, we hope to keep reporters on the job keeping you informed. Please consider making a tax-deductible donation to our local journalism fund. Thank you for your support.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexual language.
PLEASE TURN OFF YOUR CAPS LOCK.
Don't threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be proactive. Use the "Report" link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.