Shelburne Fire and Rescue departments celebrated last weekend at their annual awards banquet where numerous members were honored for their service as first responders.

The formal banquet was held at the Old Lantern Inn and Barn in Charlotte.

Town Manager Lee Krohn was chosen for the Ron Murdock Firefighter of the Year award. Krohn became town manager in 2018 but has served as a volunteer firefighter with the Shelburne Volunteer Fire Department since June 2014.

“The Murdock award is given to the firefighter who shows commitment to the department as well as dedication to his community,” said Fire Chief Jerry Ouimet. 

First Lieutenant Dwight Mazur was named Fire Officer of the Year. Ouimet said that honor is decided by a vote of the department membership. Mazur also marked 10 years with the department.

Veteran firefighter Craig Wooster was honored for 40 years of service. Six others marked three years with the department: Ben Rivard, Andreas Panos, Garrett Levin, Kurt Remlin, Josh Estey and Madison Slater.

Chief Ouimet noted recent promotions: Rick Bushey was promoted to Firefighter/Engineer; Kurt Remlin and Steve Smith were both promoted to Senior Firefighter status.

The fire department’s Rookie of the Year award went to Greg Forsyth.

Shelburne Rescue also handed out awards and honored members marking milestones in their service with the squad.

Rescue Chief Jacob Leopold said Wendi Turner was honored for 30 years with the organization and Nicholas Mellish for his 20 years of service. Cherie Schrader marked 15 years; Devin Major five years; Nicholas LeBeau, Jason Richard and Peg Clement each were recognized for three years.

A beloved member of the Shelburne Rescue family, Linda Goodrich, received special recognition. She retired as chief in 2018 after 12 years in the post. She received a plaque bearing her name and nickname, “Mama G,” that says it honors her “tireless service and leadership” and that she proved “that EMS is not something that you do – it’s something that you are.”

Rescue awards for the past year were: Driver of the Year, David LeBeau; Rescuer of the Year, Sandy McDowell; Rookie of the Year, Kathy Williams.

Two longtime rescue volunteers received special awards:

• Tom Candon received the Charlie Phelps Award which Leopold described as “recognition of staying power, dedication to family and the pursuit of knowledge in EMS.”

• The Joan Foster Award went to Megan Cross, in recognition of “excellence in caring for the whole patient and in support of the squad,” Leopold explained.

Reliable news and information is vitally important. Local advertising has been affected by the COVID-19 crisis but the Vermont Community Newspaper Group remains committed to its responsibility to serve its communities. Your communities. With some assistance from loyal readers, community organizations, foundations and other funders, we hope to keep reporters on the job keeping you informed. Please consider making a tax-deductible donation to our local journalism fund. Thank you for your support.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexual language.
Don't threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be proactive. Use the "Report" link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.